Viktualienmarkt in München

Gourmet in the heart of Munich

Thomas Lupper's stall at the Viktualienmarkt

Gourmet in the heart of Munich

Thomas Lupper's stall at the Viktualienmarkt

Munich is proud of its reputation as a "cosmopolitan city with a heart". This motto is especially noticeable at the Viktualienmarkt in the centre of the city. Here, between the brightly coloured market stalls and a blue and white maypole, you can feel the city's heart beating.

'The most beautiful office in the world'

Each day, this square sees the paths of locals, guests and market traders cross. The social interactions and authentic atmosphere make "Munich's front room", as the Viktualienmarkt is known amongst locals, one of a kind.

Viktualienmarkt München

Around 110 market traders offer their local products and exotic delicacies across over 18,000 square metres. Thomas Lupper is one of these traders. The Viktualienmarkt is his home. He has been working at what he considers to be the "most beautiful office in the world" since 1993, when he began as a temp. Between 1995 and 1998, the 46-year-old managed an Asian shop together with his sister Ursula Lupper. The same year saw them launch their speciality business: Feinkost Lupper.

The company is divided up into a cheesemongers and a shop selling Spanish delicacies, which Thomas Lupper opened in 2004. Customers can discover over 300 different types of cheese at the cheesemongers. These include homemade varieties – like the brie with a truffle filling and, of course, the Bavarian "Obazda". Thomas Lupper also sells Iberico ham, chorizo, herbs and spices, and wines from Spain.

Thomas Lupper

Early mornings at the market stall

Thomas Lupper's day begins at seven o'clock, when he opens his market stall. The Viktualienmarkt is already full of hustle and bustle in the early morning. Pedestrians scurry around the square with their shopping lists, whilst the traders arrange their goods. Thomas Lupper receives deliveries of fresh produce almost every day. He carefully unpacks these, checks them for quality and then displays them decoratively on his stall.

The final preparations have barely been completed before a visitor appears at his stall and orders "three slices of Obozen". Thomas Lupper laughs and tells the man how the Bavarian speciality is supposed to be pronounced, before explaining that it is a cheese for spreading. Incidents like this don't fluster him now. He treasures each and every customer.

 

Thomas Lupper, who was born in Munich, knows almost everyone at the market. The interactions between the market traders are especially friendly: "The market traders are like one big family. We support each other – even if that just means helping out when a colleague needs some change. No-one is worth a fiver without the others", he explains.

Thomas Lupper an seinem Stand am Viktualienmarkt
Weinauswahl bei Feinkost Lupper

Delicacies in the ``front room``

The Viktualienmarkt has remained true to its farmers' market origins. Despite this, it has become a popular place to shop amongst connoisseurs. Temptations in the centre of Munich are not far away from here. There is an opulent array of goods to titillate the stomach on almost every corner, whilst seductive aromas pervade the air. Fruit and vegetables, meat and sausages, fish, bread, cheese, tea, honey and spirits all invite you to go on a culinary tour of discovery. For the traders, it is all about business, but here the clocks tick slightly differently. Everyone always has time for a chat here.

'Tradition lives on here.'

For Thomas Lupper, the village charm of the market is symbolic of his home town. "Tradition lives on here. Everyone knows it – the market traders, the regulars and the visitors who shop at the market", he says. Those visiting the Viktualienmarkt don't just love good food, they love Munich too.

Marktstand Viktualienmarkt
Biergarten Viktualienmarkt
Feinkost Lupper
/
address: Viktualienmarkt 18, 80331 München
/
email: info@feinkost-lupper.de

Viktualienmarkt in München

Gourmet im Herzen Münchens

Thomas Luppers Stand auf dem Viktualienmarkt

Gourmet im Herzen Münchens

Thomas Luppers Stand auf dem Viktualienmarkt

München ist stolz auf seinen Ruf als „Weltstadt mit Herz“. Auf dem Viktualienmarkt im Zentrum wird dieses Motto besonders spürbar. Hier, zwischen bunten Markständen und einem blau-weißen Maibaum, schlägt das Herz der Stadt.

'Der schönste Arbeitsplatz der Welt.'

Auf dem Platz kreuzen sich täglich die Wege von Einheimischen, Gästen und Standbesitzern. Das gesellige Miteinander und die urige Atmosphäre machen „Münchens gute Stubn“, wie der Viktualienmarkt im Volksmund heißt, einmalig.

Viktualienmarkt München

Rund 110 Händler bieten auf mehr als 18.000 Quadratmetern einheimische Waren und exotische Köstlichkeiten an. Einer davon ist Thomas Lupper. Der Viktualienmarkt ist sein Zuhause. Seit 1993 arbeitet er auf dem für ihn „schönsten Arbeitsplatz der Welt“ – zunächst als Aushilfe. Von 1995 bis 1998 führt der 46-Jährige zusammen mit seiner Schwester Ursula Lupper einen Asia-Markt. Im gleichen Jahr gründen sie ihr Spezialitätengeschäft: Feinkost Lupper.

Der Betrieb unterteilt sich in einen Käseladen und ein Geschäft für spanische Feinkost, das Thomas Lupper 2004 eröffnet. An seinem Käsestand entdecken Kunden über 300 Käsearten. Hinzu kommen hausgemachte Sorten – etwa der Brie mit Trüffelfüllung und natürlich der bayerische Obazde. Seinen Kunden bietet Thomas Lupper aber auch Iberico Schinken, Chorizo, Gewürze und Wein aus Spanien an.

Thomas Lupper

Morgenstund auf dem Marktstand

Für Thomas Lupper beginnt der Tag um sieben Uhr, wenn er seinen Marktstand aufschließt. Am frühen Morgen herrscht auf dem Viktualienmarkt bereits ein geschäftiges Treiben. Passanten wuseln mit Einkaufslisten über den Platz, während die Standbesitzer ihr Warenangebot sortieren. Fast jeden Tag bekommt Thomas Lupper frische Ware geliefert, die er sorgfältig auspackt, überprüft und dekorativ in der Auslage seines Stands anrichtet.

Kaum sind die Vorbereitungen abgeschlossen, steht schon ein Besucher an seinem Marktstand und ordert „drei Scheiben Obozen“. Thomas Lupper lacht und erklärt dem Mann, wie die bayerische Spezialität tatsächlich heißt und dass es sich um einen Aufstrich handelt. Aus der Ruhe bringen ihn solche Szenen schon lange nicht mehr. Er schätzt jeden Kunden.

Thomas Lupper, ein gebürtiger Münchner, kennt nahezu jeden auf dem Markt. Vor allem das Miteinander unter den Kollegen ist herzlich: „Wir Standleute sind wie eine große Familie. Wir unterstützen uns gegenseitig – und sei es nur, dass wir aushelfen, wenn einem Kollegen das Wechselgeld fehlt. Keiner von uns ist ein Fünferl wert ohne die anderen“, erzählt er.

Thomas Lupper an seinem Stand am Viktualienmarkt
Weinauswahl bei Feinkost Lupper

Feinkost in der „guten Stubn“

Der Viktualienmarkt bleibt seinem Ursprung als Bauernmarkt bis heute treu. Dennoch ist er mittlerweile ein beliebter Einkaufsplatz für Feinschmecker. Der Weg zur Stadtverführung im Zentrum Münchens ist für sie nicht weit. An jeder Ecke kitzelt das opulente Warenangebot den Magen und verführerische Düfte streicheln die Nase. Obst und Gemüse, Fleisch- und Wurstwaren, Fisch, Brot, Käse, Tee, Honig und Spirituosen laden zum kulinarischen Streifzug ein. Natürlich geht es den Händlern ums Geschäft, aber die Uhren ticken etwas anders. Hier ist immer Zeit für einen Plausch.

'Hier lebt die Tradition.'

Für Thomas Lupper ist der dörfliche Charme des Marktes symbolisch für seine Heimatstadt. „Hier lebt die Tradition. Das ist jedem bewusst – sowohl den Standbesitzern als auch den Stammkunden und Besuchern, die auf dem Markt einkaufen“, sagt er. Wer auf den Viktualienmarkt geht, liebt nicht nur gutes Essen, sondern auch München.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen zum Viktualienmarkt in München.

Marktstand Viktualienmarkt
Biergarten Viktualienmarkt
Feinkost Lupper
/
Adresse: Viktualienmarkt 18, 80331 München
/
E-Mail: info@feinkost-lupper.de
Menü