Sterneküche im Soulfood

SoulFood in the Upper Palatinate

Award-winning cuisine - and down-to-earth

SoulFood in the Upper Palatinate

Award-winning cuisine - and down-to-earth

Auerbach in the Upper Palatinate could hardly be a more cosy little town: It's protectively framed by the Franconian Switzerland nature reserve and the Veldenstein forest. In the enchanting Old Town three historical defence towers watch over the almost 9,000 inhabitants and simple inns are the main feature on the culinary scene.  You might think that the big, wide world plays no role here. But appearances are deceiving: Auerbach has a permanent place on gourmets' world maps. Opposite the Gothic town hall is the Michelin-star-winning restaurant "SoulFood".

``Cool, delicious food``

The owners of "SoulFood" are the top chef Michael Laus (30) and his partner, Christine Heß (33). Mr. Laus: "The most important thing for us is to bring cool, delicious food to the table." The award-winning chef's style is modern and influenced by Asian, French and Mediterranean cuisine. Not only black-feathered chicken, red mullet fillets and marinated eel but also local game and trout from the Upper Palatinate are on the menu. The dishes are complemented by the decoration: It is purist and simple - there are hardly any pictures on the walls.

Laus und Heß im Soulfood
Gourmetküche im Soulfood

In addition to good food, an important thing for Laus and Heß is: "Our guests should have fun. We are not a typically stiff, high-class restaurant." In the eatery with its large window there are seats for 35 lovers of good food. There's no dress code, the family with small children sits next to gourmet diners in their finery and the prices for a set menu are more than fair for this quality. Christine Heß: "We offer a top-class gastronomic experience at a good price." The couple's style has also won over the Auerbach locals and they have quickly gained regular customers.

``We offer a top-class gastronomic experience at a good price.``

For Michael Laus opening the restaurant in 2012 was a return to his roots. Laus was born and grew up in Auerbach. In 2000, at the age of 15, he left the town to learn the art of cooking. After finishing his training in Amberg, his career path led him to an Austrian ski resort hotel and then to Frankfurt's best restaurants. In the Hessen metroplis, he also studied under a two-star chef - and himself became an artist at the stove.

Außenansicht Soulfood

Laus' spicy tuna and his crispy variation on sushi won him a Michelin star at the end of 2015. Since then guests come from further afield than they did before; some travel for 1.5 hours. "They also expect more", says Laus. Heß adds: "We're not making any changes to our concept or our pricing policy because of it."

At least since the award, Auerbach has become a centre for gourmet cuisine in the region.  The whole town benefits from the guests: "Many of them were never here before", says Laus. "They tell us how lovely they think the town is." It was similar for Heß, when Laus took her for the first time to his hometown. "I felt at home here straightaway", she says. "I come from a village in Thuringia with 126 inhabitants, so I like this small-town life very much anyway. But the town is also simply lovely."

Spargelspitzen SoulFood

SIMONE FROM SIMONE’S KITCHEN VISITS SoulFood RUN BY CHRISTINE AND MICHAEL in the Upper Palatinate

A kitchen where every course is a revelation, and whose Michelin star is richly deserved. As a food blogger she is always looking for new inspiration, it’s right up Simone’s street.

Read more
SoulFood
/
address: Unterer Markt 35, 91275 Auerbach in der Oberpfalz
Tel: +49 (0)9643 2052225
/
email: info@restaurant-soulfood.com
/
web: //www.restaurant-soulfood.com/

Sterneküche im Soulfood

SoulFood in der Oberpfalz

Sterneküche – aber bodenständig

SoulFood in der Oberpfalz

Sterneküche – aber bodenständig

Auerbach in der Oberpfalz ist eine Kleinstadt, wie sie behaglicher kaum sein könnte: Der Naturpark Fränkische Schweiz und der Veldensteiner Forst rahmen Auerbach behütend ein. In der beschaulichen Altstadt wachen gleich drei historische Wehrtürme über die knapp 9.000 Einwohner und das gastronomische Angebot ist vor allem geprägt von einfachen Gaststätten. Hier spielt die weite Welt keine Rolle, denkt man. Doch das täuscht: Auerbach hat einen festen Platz auf den Weltkarten der Gourmets. Gegenüber vom gotischen Rathaus steht das Sternerestaurant „SoulFood“.

'Geiles, leckeres Essen'

Die Betreiber des „SoulFood“ sind der Spitzenkoch Michael Laus (30) und seine Partnerin Christine Heß (33). Laus: „Das Wichtigste für uns ist, geiles, leckeres Essen auf den Tisch zu bringen.“ Der Stil des Sternekochs ist modern und beeinflusst von der asiatischen, französischen und mediterranen Küche. Schwarzfederhuhn, Rotbarbenfilet und marinierter Aal, aber auch heimisches Wild und oberpfälzer Forellen stehen auf der Karte. Die Fokussierung auf die Gerichte wird durch die Einrichtung unterstützt: Sie ist puristisch und einfach, es gibt kaum Bilder an den Wänden.

Laus und Heß im Soulfood
Gourmetküche im Soulfood

Neben gutem Essen ist für Laus und Heß außerdem wichtig: „Unsere Gäste sollen Spaß haben. Wir sind nicht das typische steife Spitzenrestaurant.“ Im Lokal mit seinem großen Fenster finden 35 Genießer Platz. Einen Dresscode gibt es nicht, die Familie mit kleinen Kindern sitzt neben Gourmets im feinen Zwirn und die Preise für ein Menü sind für die gebotene Qualität mehr als fair. Christine Heß: „Wir bieten Spitzengastronomie zum kleinen Preis.“ Mit seiner Art hat das Gastronomenpaar auch die Auerbacher überzeugt und schnell Stammgäste gewonnen.

'Wir bieten Spitzengastronomie zum kleinen Preis.'

Für Michael Laus war die Eröffnung im Jahr 2012 eine Rückkehr. Laus ist in Auerbach geboren und aufgewachsen. Mit 15 Jahren, im Jahr 2000, verließ er die Stadt, um das Kochen zu lernen. Sein Weg führte ihn nach der Ausbildung in Amberg über ein österreichisches Ski-Hotel nach Frankfurt in die Spitzengastronomie. In der hessischen Metropole lernte er unter anderem von einem Zwei-Sterne-Koch – und wurde selber zum Künstler am Herd.

Außenansicht Soulfood

Für Laus‘ scharfen Thunfisch und seine knusprige Sushi-Variante gab es Ende 2015 den Michelin-Stern. Die Gäste kommen seitdem von noch weiter her als vorher schon, manche fahren 1,5 Stunden. „Sie erwarten auch mehr“, sagt Laus. Heß fügt hinzu: „An unserem Konzept und unserer Preispolitik ändern wir deswegen aber nichts.“

Spätestens seit der Sternverleihung ist Auerbach ein Zentrum für Spitzenküche in der Region geworden. Von den Gästen profitiert der ganze Ort: „Viele waren vorher noch nie hier“, sagt Laus. „Sie erzählen uns dann, wie schön sie die Stadt finden.“ Ähnlich ging es auch Heß, als Laus sie zum ersten Mal in seine Heimat mitnahm „Ich habe mich hier gleich zuhause gefühlt“, sagt sie. „Ich komme aus einem 126-Einwohner-Dorf in Thüringen, daher gefällt mir dieses Kleinstadtleben sowieso sehr gut. Die Stadt ist aber auch einfach schön.“

Spargelspitzen SoulFood

Annette Sandner zu Gast im SoulFood

Kulinarik, Kochen, Gastronomie, gute Lebensmittel und Gäste Bewirten sind für Annette mehr als ein Hobby. Sie wuchs in einem Familienhotel auf und die Liebe zu Lebensmitteln und deren Zubereitung wurden ihr in die Wiege gelegt. Nun besuchte Sie das Restaurant SoulFood in Auerbach.

Weiterlesen
SoulFood
/
Adresse: Unterer Markt 35, 91275 Auerbach in der Oberpfalz
Tel: +49 (0)9643 2052225
/
E-Mail: info@restaurant-soulfood.com
/
Web: http://www.restaurant-soulfood.com/
Menü