From another planet

Meyers Keller in Nördlingen

From another planet

Meyers Keller in Nördlingen

Most star chefs pass through lots of different stations in the large establishments before opening their own restaurants. But things were a little different for Joachim Kaiser. He is self-taught and yet, despite this – or perhaps because of this! – has been awarded a Michelin star. Nördlingen has played a key role in his cooking from the very beginning: "My wife and I always believed that someone had to make this region, with all of its peculiarities, tastable."

'My wife and I always believed that someone had to make this region, with all of its peculiarities, tastable.'

You begin to understand why when you look back into the earth's history: 14.5 million years ago, a metoerite hit the earth and created the Nördlingen Ries: The circular plain, which is some 25 kilometres in diameter, is the crater caused by the impact, and is surrounded by a striking chain of hills, which are around 100 metres in height – the crater rim.

Joachim Kaiser im Meyers Keller

A further circle, which looks like it has been drawn by a compass, lies almost in the middle of this; it is as if the people of several centuries ago had a real love for symmetry. This smaller circle is the free imperial town of Nördlingen, with the fully preserved city walls encompassing the town. Following the Thirty Years' War, Nördlingen lay dormant like Sleeping Beauty, and is now a fine example of an intact townscape, something that is rarely found in Germany.

A treasure hunt for old recipes and ingredients

In order to make this special region "tastable" in his restaurant Meyers Keller, Joachim Kaiser is constantly on the hunt for old recipes, forgotten ingredients and traditional handicrafts. He can have a field day with this. "The great thing is to be able to source everything that you need for a sophisticated kitchen from within just a few kilometres. The Ries is unbelievably fertile and there is a massive range of different soils in just a small area. It means that you can grow everything from asparagus to potatoes."

Gastraum in Meyers Keller
Joachim Kaiser in der Küche

Beer is a key local ingredient for Joachim Kaiser. It comes as no surprise: His mother was one of the first women to be given the official title of Master Brewer. Joachim Kaiser wants to put beer back where it should, in his mind, be: as an equal alternative to wine.

'You just need to explain a little about the beer. People are soon curious to try it for themselves.'

It fits that one of the finest beers in Germany is brewed just a few kilometres from Nördlingen: the Champagne beer of the Fürstlich Wallerstein brewery. It is used in Meyers Keller together with other select beers – even as a suggested accompaniment for the finest dishes. Don't guests scoff at this? "Nonsense!" says Joachim Kaiser, smiling. "You just need to explain a little about the beer. People are soon curious to try it for themselves." And, in actual fact, the recommended Weißbier (wheat beer) goes wonderfully with the fish dish, with its light herbal, bitter taste and its citrus notes. Who'd have thought it?

Champagnerbier

SIMONE FROM SIMONE’S KITCHEN VISITS JOACHIM KAISER AND HIS RESTAURANT MEYERS-KELLER IN NÖRDLINGEN

Simone is a food and travel blogger with a special interest in regional culinary specialities. She was therefore in her element with Joachim Keller at Meyers Keller in Nördlingen.

Read more
Meyers Keller
/
address: Marienhöhe 8, 86720 Nördlingen
Tel: +49 (0)9081 4493
/
email: restaurant@meyerskeller.de
/
web: //www.meyerskeller.de/

Wie vom anderen Stern

Meyers Keller in Nördlingen

Wie vom anderen Stern

Meyers Keller in Nördlingen

Die meisten Sterneköche durchlaufen viele Stationen in den großen Häusern, bis sie ihr eigenes Restaurant eröffnen. Bei Joachim Kaiser war das ein wenig anders: Er ist Autodidakt und mittlerweile dennoch – oder deswegen? – mit einem Michelin-Stern ausgezeichnet. Von Beginn an spielte Nördlingen eine wichtige Rolle für seine Küche: „Meine Frau und ich waren immer der Meinung, dass man diese Region mit all ihren Besonderheiten schmeckbar machen müsste.“

'Meine Frau und ich waren immer der Meinung, dass man diese Region mit all ihren Besonderheiten schmeckbar machen muss.'

Den Grund dafür versteht man, wenn man ein wenig in die Erdgeschichte zurückschaut: Ein Meteorit schlug vor 14,5 Millionen Jahren ein und schuf das Nördlinger Ries: Die kreisrunde Ebene von 25 Kilometern Durchmesser ist der Einschlagkrater, der von einer markanten Hügelkette von rund 100 Metern Höhe umschlossen wird – dem Kraterrand.

Joachim Kaiser im Meyers Keller

Als hätten die Menschen vor Jahrhunderten eine besondere Liebe zur Symmetrie gehabt, liegt fast in der Mitte dieses Kraters ein weiterer Kreis, wie mit dem Zirkel gezogen: Die einstige Freie Reichsstadt Nördlingen, mit dem komplett erhaltenen Rund ihrer Stadtmauer. Nach dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg lag Nördlingen für Jahrhunderte im Dornröschenschlaf und zeigt uns ein intaktes Stadtbild, wie man es in Deutschland nur noch selten findet.

'Im Umkreis von wenigen Kilometern bekomme ich alles was man für eine anspruchsvolle Küche braucht.'

Um diese besondere Region in seinem Restaurant Meyers Keller schmeckbar zu machen, ist Joachim Kaiser immer auf der Pirsch nach alten Rezepten, längst vergessenen Zutaten und Handwerkstraditionen. Dabei kann er aus den Vollen schöpfen. „Das großartige ist, dass ich im Umkreis von wenigen Kilometern alles bekomme was man für eine anspruchsvolle Küche braucht. Das Ries ist unglaublich fruchtbar und auf kleinem Raum gibt es hier vollkommen unterschiedliche Böden. Deshalb kann man hier vom Spargel bis zur Kartoffel alles anbauen.“

Gastraum in Meyers Keller
Joachim Kaiser in der Küche

Ein wichtiges lokales Lebensmittel ist für Joachim Kaiser Bier. Kein Wunder, schließlich war seine Mutter eine der ersten Frauen überhaupt, die den offiziellen Braumeistertitel trugen. Joachim Kaiser will dem Bier wieder den Platz zuweisen, den es seiner Meinung nach verdient: als ebenbürtige Alternative zu Wein.

'Man muss nur ein bisschen über das Bier erzählen und schon ist die Neugier geweckt.'

Da passt es, dass wenige Kilometer von Nördlingen entfernt eines der edelsten Biere gebraut wird, die es in Deutschland gibt: Das Champagnerbier des Fürstlichen Brauhauses Wallerstein. Es kommt in Meyers Keller zusammen mit ausgewählten anderen Bieren zum Einsatz – auch als Begleitung zu den edelsten Menüs. Aber stutzen die Gäste da nicht? „Ach wo“, entgegnet Joachim Kaiser lachend. „Man muss nur ein bisschen über das Bier erzählen. Dann ist ganz schnell die Neugier geweckt und die Menschen lassen sich darauf ein.“ Und tatsächlich: Das vorgeschlagene Weißbier passt ganz hervorragend zum Fischgericht mit seiner leicht herb-bitteren Note und seinen Citrusaromen. Wer hätte das gedacht!

Champagnerbier

Torsten Goffin zu Gast im Meyers Keller

Seit 2009 betreibt er sein eigenes Blog „Allem Anfang – über Essen, Trinken und andere Formen von Kultur“. Nun hat Torsten den Meyers Keller in Nördlingen besucht.

Weiterlesen
Meyers Keller
/
Adresse: Marienhöhe 8, 86720 Nördlingen
Tel: +49 (0)9081 4493
/
E-Mail: restaurant@meyerskeller.de
/
Web: http://www.meyerskeller.de/
Menü