The state needs new brass

The Brass Wiesn Festival in Eching

The state needs new brass

The Brass Wiesn Festival in Eching

Resounding trumpets, jumping crowds of people and conviviality in lederhosen: At the Brass Wiesn Festival in Eching, the Bavarian attitude towards life is celebrated in the summer – and differently to how you would expect. This is not a folk festival with beer. At the Brass Wiesn Festival, everything revolves around a single phenomenon: the rediscovery of brass music.

Thousands of visitors celebrate the new brass music

The first thing that anyone who arrives at the Brass Wiesn camp site near Munich sees is: a lot of Bavaria. A "Goaßlschnalzer" whip-cracker cracks their whip between the tents; whilst visitors dressed in traditional costume wander between the hay bales and old agricultural machines towards the stages. Anyone who doesn't have their own barbecue can get grilled fish on a stick, chicken and knuckle of pork. They are eaten at beer table sets with a view of meadows and wheat fields. This is Bavaria as we know it: traditional and with a lot of rural charm.

Festivalbesucher
Festivalbesucher

The organiser of Brass Wiesn, Alexander Wolff: "Without a doubt, we wanted to cultivate traditional Bavaria, the traditions and the feeling of attachment to one's homeland at our festival. But we didn't let that limit us." Anyone who looks again will see that the visitors casually combine the traditional dress with trainers and T-shirts. Or they are not wearing traditional dress at all and look like typical festival goers. By the time you experience a performance on the large open-air stage by the new brass heroes, you can see that the Brass Wiesn Festival is a completely modern music festival.

Songs in dialect

Bands such as Kapelle Josef Menzl, dicht&ergreifend, Sunnseiten Tanzlmusi or Die Fexer get the visitors fired up: Tubas, trumpets and horns, with modern beats, make thousands dance, jump and sweat. "Die einen schnupfa, die andern dringa, die andern hupfa, die andern springa", sing with a thousand voices, as they join in with the dicht&ergreifend song "Schnupfa & Dringa". They sing the words "Heit is mei Alte g‘storbn" to the song of the same name, which is not altogether serious, by the Kapelle Josef Menzl. The song texts become a way of preserving dialects. The music sounds like home and, at the same time, like the wide world. It expresses the Bavarian attitude to life, which is always swinging between tradition and modern influences.

Partystimmung im Zelt

Since 2013, the Brass Wiesn Festival has been taking place on a weekend in the summertime – and it is constantly attracting more fans. One of the reasons is the venue for the festival in Eching, which is made for a perfect Bavarian summer. The guests can easily get there by S-Bahn from Munich. In spite of the proximity of the metropolis, the site is embedded in idyllic, rural surroundings. A particular advantage: the lake Echinger See is right nearby. Anyone who has got too hot dancing can find the perfect spot to cool down within walking distance.

The next Brass Wiesn will take place from 2th – 5th August 2018.

Stimmung am See
Sonnenrot GmbH & Co. KG
Tel: +49 (0)861 20 92 651
/
email: kontakt@brasswiesn.de
/
web: //www.brasswiesn.de/

Brass Wiesn

Neue Bleche braucht das Land

Die Brass Wiesn in Eching

Neue Bleche braucht das Land

Die Brass Wiesn in Eching

Schmetternde Trompeten, hüpfende Menschenmassen und krachlederne Gemütlichkeit: Auf der Brass Wiesn in Eching wird im Sommer das bayerische Lebensgefühl gefeiert – und zwar anders als man es erwarten würde. Hier geht es nicht nur um Volksfest-Bierseligkeit. Auf der Brass Wiesn dreht sich alles vor allem um ein Phänomen: Die Neuentdeckung der Blasmusik.

Tausende Besucher feiern die neue Blasmusik

Wer auf dem Campingplatz der Brass-Wiesn in der Nähe von München ankommt, sieht erst einmal: Viel Bayern. Ein Goaßlschnalzer lässt zwischen den Campingzelten seine Peitsche knallen, die Besucher tragen Tracht und spazieren zwischen Heuballen und alten Landmaschinen zu den Bühnen. Wer nicht selber grillt, bekommt auf dem Festivalgelände Steckerlfisch, Hendl und Haxn. Gegessen wird an Biertischgarnituren mit Blick auf Wiesen und Weizenfelder. Das ist Bayern, wie man es kennt: Traditionell und mit viel ländlichem Charme.

Festivalbesucher
Festivalbesucher

Der Veranstalter der Brass Wiesn, Alexander Wolff: „Wir wollen auf jeden Fall auch das typisch Bayerische, die Tradition und Heimatverbundenheit auf unserem Festival pflegen. Aber wir lassen uns nicht davon beschränken.“ Wer noch einmal hinschaut, sieht auch, dass die Besucher die Trachten lässig kombinieren mit Turnschuhen und T-Shirts. Oder sie tragen gar keine Tracht und sehen aus wie typische Festivalbesucher. Spätestens wenn man einen Auftritt der neuen Brass-Helden auf der großen Open-Air-Bühne erlebt, sieht man, dass die Brass Wiesn ein ganz modernes Musikfestival ist.

Gesungen wird im Dialekt

Bands wie die Kapelle Josef Menzl, dicht & ergreifend, Sunnseitn Tanzlmusi oder Die Fexer heizen den Besuchern ein: Tubas, Trompeten und Hörner bringen im Einklang mit modernen Beats Tausende Buam und Madln zum Tanzen, Springen und Schwitzen. „Die einen schnupfa, die andern dringa, die andern hupfa, die andern springa“, klingt es aus Tausenden Kehlen, als sie den dicht&ergreifend-Song „Schnupfa & Dringa“ mitsingen. „Heit is mei Alte g‘storbn“, bei dem gleichnamigen und nicht ganz ernstzunehmenden Lied von der Kapelle Josef Menzl. Die Songtexte werden zur Mundartpflege. Die Musik klingt nach Heimat und gleichzeitig nach weiter Welt. Sie drückt das bayerische Lebensgefühl aus, das immer zwischen Tradition und modernen Einflüssen pendelt.

Partystimmung im Zelt

Seit 2013 findet die Brass Wiesn an einem Wochenende im Sommer statt – und findet immer mehr Fans. Ein Grund dafür ist auch das Festival-Gelände in Eching, das wie gemacht ist für einen perfekten bayerischen Sommer. Mit der S-Bahn können die Gäste aus München unkompliziert anreisen. Trotz der Nähe zur Großstadt ist das Gelände eingebettet in eine idyllische ländliche Umgebung. Ein ganz besonderer Vorteil: Der Echinger See liegt gleich nebenan. Wer sich beim Tanzen zu sehr aufgeheizt hat, kommt fußläufig zur Abkühlung.

Nächster Termin: 4. bis 6. August 2017

Stimmung am See
Sonnenrot GmbH & Co. KG
Tel: +49 (0)861 20 92 651
/
E-Mail: kontakt@brasswiesn.de
/
Web: http://www.brasswiesn.de/
Menü