Mahrs-Bräu Bamberg, Bockbieranstich

A toast to strong beer

Tapping of the Bock beer in Bamberg

A toast to strong beer

Tapping of the Bock beer in Bamberg

Up hill and down dale - it was a long journey for the beer barrels on the old carts. Slowly but steadily, the horses straining at the harness, the liquid gold was hauled a great distance over the Alps. The sun burned down - turning the beer sour. The medieval brewers realised the had to find a make their beer last longer. Legend has it that this is how the Bockbier was born, with its high gravity and alcohol content. Brewers have long celebrated the tapping of the first barrel of Starkbier, or strong beer - and even now, they herald the start of Bockbier season each autumn.

Ausschank Mahrs Bräu

The tapping of the Bockbier at Mahrs Bräu

Under the spreading chestnut trees in the brewery courtyard, a bevy of young guests is gathered together. A DJ is playing music in the background. The youngsters stand in small groups, dancing and enjoying their freshly tapped, malty, aromatic Bockbier out of earthenware tankards. It is autumn in Bamberg – and locals and visitors are celebrating the tapping of the Bamberg Bockbier at the long-established Mahrs brewery.

Many visitors to the Bockbieranstich are regular customers of the individual breweries.

In the brewery restaurant of Mahrs Bräu the atmosphere is rather more snug than outside in the courtyard. The room has a low ceiling and the light is dim; the dark wooden-panelled walls lend this typical Bavarian tavern its authentic charm. Guests here secured themselves a table for the Bockbieranstich well in advance and are tucking into various ham-based snacks with gusto. These specialities are only served here once a year - for the Bockbieranstich. “However, other typical Franconian snacks like Schäufele and Bierhaxn go brilliantly with the strong beer – basically any fatty food”, says Stephan Michel, owner of Mahrs Bräu.

Bockbieranstich in Bamberg
Mahrs Bräu, Bamberg

Bockbieranstich: typical of Bamberg

Mahrs Bräu is just one of ten Bamberg breweries that celebrate the local Bockbier (strong beer) every year – as do dozens of other regional breweries in the rest of the region. In most cases, the breweries have been in the same families for generations. Many of the old buildings have an equally long history and have been a staple feature of the city landscape for centuries. In many corners of the region the sweetish aroma of malt is in the air - a tell-tale sign of the brewing process.

'We have the greatest density of breweries in the world'

Bamberg is the stronghold of beer: “We have the greatest density of breweries in the world”, explains Stephan Michel. “We also have the largest per capita consumption of beer in Germany. If you are a fan of beer, Bamberg is a veritable paradise.” Nowadays, the Bockbieranstich celebration in Bamberg is a major community event, but there is nothing artificial about it, according to Stephan Michel. “The Bockbieranstich is not some great show, but rather as authentic as it ever was – just a little bit different.”

Ausschank

City temptation: Bamberg comes to life in the autumn

From labourer to lawyer – most of the locals spend the whole year looking forward to the autumn and the start of the strong beer season. Many Bamberg students celebrate the start of term at the Bockbier festival. Newcomers and guests relish the opportunity to get to know the city and its people. More than anything, however, the Bockbieranstich is a “local event”, explains Stephan Michel. “Many visitors to the Bockbieranstich are regular customers of the individual breweries.” A visit to the festival offers genuine insight into a popular Bamberg custom.

Prost

Mahrs Bräu

/
address: Wunderburg 10, 96050 Bamberg
Tel: +49 (0)951 91517 0
/
email: info@mahrs.de
/
web: //www.mahrs.de

Mahrs-Bräu Bamberg, Bockbieranstich

Ein Prosit auf das Starkbier

Bockbieranstich Bamberg

Ein Prosit auf das Starkbier

Bockbieranstich Bamberg

Über Stock und Stein, Wiese und Feld – weit ist die Reise der Bierfässer auf dem alten Karren. Stetig und langsam, die Pferde haben ihre Müh‘, das flüssige Gold den weiten Weg über die Alpen zu kutschieren. Die Sonne brennt herab – und das Bier wird sauer. Die Brauer im Mittelalter brauchen eine Lösung, um das Bier länger haltbar zu machen. Die Legende besagt, so wurde das Bockbier mit einem hohen Stammwürze- und Alkoholgehalt geboren. Seit jeher feiern Brauer den Anstich ihres ersten Fasses Starkbier – noch heute läuten sie im Herbst damit die Bockbier-Saison ein.

Ausschank Mahrs Bräu

Der Bockbieranstich bei Mahrs Bräu

Unter den großen Kastanienbäumen im Brauereihof sammelt sich eine Schar junger Gäste. Im Hintergrund spielt ein DJ Musik. In kleinen Gruppen stehen die Menschen zusammen, tanzen und genießen ihr frisch gezapftes, malzig-aromatisches Bockbier aus Tonkrügen. Es ist Herbst in Bamberg – Einheimische und Besucher feiern den Bamberger Bockbieranstich bei der alteingesessenen Mahrs Brauerei.

'Viele Besucher des Bockbieranstiches sind Stammkunden der jeweiligen Brauerei.'

In der Brauereigaststätte von Mahrs Bräu geht es gemütlicher zu als draußen im Hof. Der Raum hat eine niedrige Decke und das Licht ist schummrig, die mit dunklem Holz vertäfelten Wände verleihen dem typisch bayerischen Wirtshaus seinen authentischen Charme. Die Gäste hier haben sich weit im Voraus einen Tisch zum Bockbieranstich gesichert und genießen Schinken im Brotteig oder Pfefferschinken. Diese außergewöhnlichen Gerichte serviert der Wirt nur einmal im Jahr – zum Bockbieranstich. „Aber auch typisch fränkische Schäufele und Bierhaxn passen super zum Starkbier – eben alles, was fettig ist“, sagt Stephan Michel, Inhaber von Mahrs Bräu.

Bockbieranstich in Bamberg
Mahrs Bräu, Bamberg

Bockbieranstich: typisch bambergisch

Mahrs Bräu ist nur eine von zehn Bamberger Brauereien, die jedes Jahr das Bockbier zelebrieren – Dutzende weitere Brauereien in der Region tun es ihnen gleich. Meist gehören die Brauereien seit Jahrhunderten der gleichen Familie. Die alten Gebäude stehen teilweise ebenso lange und prägen seit jeher das Stadtbild. In vielen Ecken der Region liegt der süßliche Malzgeruch in der Luft, der beim Bierbrauen entsteht.

'Wir haben die höchste Brauereidichte der Welt.'

Bamberg ist die Hochburg des Bieres: „Wir haben die höchste Brauereidichte der Welt“, erklärt Stephan Michel. „Bei uns gibt es auch den höchsten Pro-Kopf-Verbrauch an Bier in Deutschland. Wenn Sie dem Bier verfallen sind, ist Bamberg ein Paradies.“ Heutzutage ist der Bockbieranstich in Bamberg ein gesellschaftliches Großereignis, laut Stephan Michel dennoch nicht aufgesetzt: „Der Bockbieranstich ist keine riesige Show, sondern nach wie vor authentisch – nur etwas anders halt.“

Ausschank

Stadtverführung: Der Herbst lässt Bamberg aufleben

Vom Arbeiter bis zum Staatsanwalt – die Einheimischen warten meist schon das gesamte Jahr darauf, dass im Herbst wieder die Starkbier-Saison beginnt. Viele Bamberger Studenten feiern auf dem Bockbierfest den Semesterstart. Zugezogene und Gäste nutzen die Gelegenheit, die Stadt und die Bamberger kennenzulernen. Der Bockbieranstich ist vor allem ein „lokales Ereignis“, erklärt Stephan Michel. „Viele Besucher des Bockbieranstiches sind Stammkunden der jeweiligen Brauerei.“ Ein Besuch des Festes spendet einen unverfälschten Einblick in einen beliebten Bamberger Brauch.

Prost

Podcast – Hockdiher

Mahrs-Bräu Bamberg, Bockbieranstich

Mahrs Bräu

/
Adresse: Wunderburg 10, 96050 Bamberg
Tel: +49 (0)951 91517 0
/
E-Mail: info@mahrs.de
/
Web: //www.mahrs.de
Menü